Keeping Secrets

Keeping Secrets

10″ x 6″ x 8″  Keeping Secrets is an assemblage piece, utilizing an antique wooden box, blown glass fixture and other found objects. The iron bird holds a scroll, his eyes twinkling. All my life, my father would find out things about me and my life from my mother and sisters, but when I questioned how he knew he would tell me “A little bird told me.” This little bird is being kept under glass and under lock and key.

I adore this piece for the idea of it and for the fact that it seemed to pull itself together on its own, only using me as a means to an end. I post it happily for day 15 of Art Every Day Month. By Heather Brush.

Keeping Secrets top view

Keeping Secrets side view

Keeping Secrets detail

6 responses to “Keeping Secrets

  1. That is a great piece of art, and such a cool meaning behind it 🙂 I really like it

  2. this is a fascinating sculpture. very cool.

  3. Another one I love.

  4. love this one! wow! i keep going back to look at it again and again.

  5. Love the key, so inviting.

Leave a comment