The Scream

The Scream

11″ x 11″  The Scream is pastel on paper under glass, with found object.  Edvard Munch may forgive my imitation. One of the most recognizable images in the art world, The Scream takes on the viewer’s own meaning. To me, it is release of anxiety, frustration, fear. In execution, it was an exercise in challenge and fun. Copying the masters is not something I’ve often attempted; I like the result. Using pastel on paper has not always been enjoyable for me but blending with linseed oil was intensely satisfying. This was my first attempt since college (that’s a long time.).  Created and posted for day 9 of Art Every Day Month. By Heather Brush. The Scream is available for sale at The Artisan Center Along the Crooked Road, in Rocky Mount, VA. $50.

Munch wrote of how the painting came to be:

I was walking down the road with two friends when the sun set; suddenly, the sky turned as red as blood. I stopped and leaned against the fence, feeling unspeakably tired. Tongues of fire and blood stretched over the bluish black fjord. My friends went on walking, while I lagged behind, shivering with fear. Then I heard the enormous, infinite scream of nature.[48]

The Scream detail

 

5 responses to “The Scream

  1. Wow, this is really good! I love the frame and it’s a good compliment to your pastel:)

  2. Great job and the frame makes it even more super awesome!

  3. That little face in the corner is awesome! What a great way to frame a great piece!

  4. Wow! Nice job–really!

  5. this is a really good Scream. the frame is really cool.

Leave a Reply

